Death Awoken: A GameLit Series (Death God System - Book #1)


On a small planet, an unknown presence was stirring.

With no physical body, all of its previous memories messed up and without a clear name, our MC starts his journey. Fused on its soul a strange System that will help him be stronger on this strange unknown new world.

To claim back all that has been stripped away, he must first generate a body. For this, the system reveals that it needs to collect sufficient XP points by absorbing forces, death auras, regaining fundamental skills like talking and weapon wielding to go on dangerous missions. One kill equals one death point.

Name: Unknown XP: 0 Death points: 0

The more quests he goes on, and the strong beasts and humans slew – the more the Death Core whispers in his ear and torments his soul.

The child, still without a name, falls into the company of Demon Ye (Ye Qing). He was a raging executioner, who tragically lost control when the family he loved were killed. Ye Qing names him Ye Bai, much the Death God’s annoyance, but no matter the trial or task at hand, the child’s thoughts don’t stray far from the next kill. Once down Hell’s Path, it drives his soul to the brink of insanity, and he’s not sure he can restrain himself from earning another XP point.

“I know one thing, Death brings me peace.”

This tale is a GameLit adventure that will have you rolling over the pages to see what consequences lie ahead! It is not for the fainthearted, it requires a steady hand, a strategic mind – and a strong stomach.

My Opinion: 388 pages, $2.99, Not Available on Kindle Unlimited

Note: There are noticeable technical writing issues that are mostly seen in the beginning and end of the novel. Issues: tense mixing, missing or misspelled words being the most common. It’s not a huge issue but it will bug some people.

This is an OP reincarnation slice of life story with a cultivation power progression system. You still see lots of notifications though. The story starts off a bit differently than most reincarnation with the main character (MC) being an amorphous ball of energy for the first 12% and figuring out the RPG progression system and you can tell that the author was trying to figure out the kind of story he wanted to tell. But once it hits the 12% mark the MC gets a human body and it becomes a more familiar cultivation story with a wider look at the world and some human characters to interact with. The MC has some OP skills and most of the story from there on is about him traveling, adventuring, training, and doing slice of life stuff. No real plot or save the world stuff here.

On the game mechanics side, though it’s cultivation based there are lots of familiar notifications that give it a regular game vibe. There’s an XP system the MC can use to advance his various death themed powers and to cultivate Qi and Body aspects. There’s a whole well described cultivation ranking system and it’s a well thought out progression system. It’s neat.

Overall, I enjoyed the story. The story isn’t perfect. It loses some enjoyment because of the technical writing issues, that it gets a bit repetitive in the middle a bit, and that  ends on a rather odd note. But if you’re in the mood for a slice of life cultivation story with an OP main character, this is something I think you’ll enjoy.

Score: 7.2 out of 10

Death Awoken: A GameLit Series (Death God System - Book #1)