Rules-Free VRMMO Life: Book 1 - Tutorial

The year is 2076, and mankind has perfected VR technology, using the Chip, an implant that interfaces directly with the human brain, using it like an organic computer. Age of Anarchy Online (AAO) is the newest game released by Icestorm, makers of the legendary World of Destiny (WoD).

Unlike VR games before it, AAO promises a 110% 'Better Than Life' realism experience, and to showcase this, Icestorm announces that AAO will have no 'Out of Character' rules, save for actions like hacking or exploiting system errors. Players can do anything to NPCs and even other players, and there will be no consequences save what one may suffer in game. "Do what thou wilt, but it may be done to you in turn."

Mike Greene, better known in WoD as Torgan, a max level Paladin and leader of the Lords of Light, one of the top 'light side' guilds in WoD, now sets off on a new adventure in AAO.


My Opinion: 191 pages, $0.99, Not available on Kindle Unlimited

The author warns the reader up front that it is a villain story. Not a hero, not an anti-hero, but a villain. The series is based on the idea of the Evil Campaign, where players get to do all the evil stuff they wouldn’t in their normal campaign. Boy is he right.

First off, the game mechanics in the story are really good.  They are well described and interesting. There’s plenty of information available to create your own character in this new game world. A game where there are no game imposed restrictions to player actions.

The beginning is just informational.  Race, Class, Attribute descriptions, a bunch of character creation stuff. Starting at the 39% mark, the rest of the novel is the tutorial level for the main character. Here the MC gets into his first fights and gets his first quests. The action is well described and the game world feels really well thought out.

However, the story lost me at the rape and spitting of a human then roasting her alive to eat later.

That part ruined the story for me and I don’t intend to read the next book in the series. However, I thought it would be a disservice to you not to let you know about it so you could decide for yourself if the series is for you. I'll make sure to add any new titles to the series below.

Score: 4 out of 10.

Rules-Free VRMMO Life: Book 1 - Tutorial

New Additions to the series:

Rules-Free VRMMO Life: Volume II - Beginning the Journey

Rules-Free VRMMO Life, Volume III: Wyrmwood

Rules-Free VRMMO Life: Volume IV: To the Deeps

Rules-Free VRMMO Life: Volume V - Power Base

Rules-Free VRMMO Life: Volume VI: Taking the Show on the Road

Rules-Free VRMMO Life: Volume VII: The Tribeslands

Rules-Free VRMMO Life: Volume VIII: Trial of the Gods