Djinn Tamer: Rivals: A Monster Battling GameLit Adventure (Djinn Tamer - Bronze League Book 2)

DjinnTamerBk2Small.jpg

Let the rivalries begin.

If Jackson Hunt ever wants to become a champion monster tamer, he’s got a long road ahead of him. And he’s not the only one with dreams of glory

As a new season of the Djinn Battle League fast approaches, Jackson prepares to enter training camp — a grueling series of tests to discover talented new tamers. The rules are simple: if you’re not the best, you go home.

For a young man who lives to battle, going home isn’t an option. There’s only one problem — Jackson isn’t so sure he deserves to be there in the first place. With competition heating up, Jackson’s bond with his Djinn will be tested to their limits. But no matter how much he trains, if his new monsters won’t work together, he won’t stand a chance.

The fighting will be intense. The rivalries, fierce. At the end of the road, the chance of a lifetime awaits. Against friends and foes both old and new, can Jackson prove he’s worthy of a shot at the big leagues?

Djinn Tamer: Rivals is the second book in the Djinn Tamer series, a monster-battling GameLit adventure for fans of Pokemon, Digimon and Monster Rancher.


My Opinion: 361 pages, $5.99, Available on Kindle Unlimited

I enjoyed this one a lot more than book 1. Probably because there isn't the need for any setup and it gets right to the good stuff in the first chapter.

It takes the Pokemon-esque like world and fleshes it out while having the main character (MC) and his team fight, train, and capture battle monsters. There’s an added rivalry with other trainers that adds some motivation, but the core of the story is just the MC wants to be the best that ever was and join the league of trainers.

Game mechanic wise, things are still light. About the same as you'd see in the Pokemon games, just with added stats and power upgrades.

Overall, the novel won me over because it leaned more into what this battle monster kind of story is good at. Capturing new monsters, training them, and fighting. Pairing that with an underdog story and I had a good time.

Score: 7.3 out of 10

Djinn Tamer: Rivals: A Monster Battling GameLit Adventure (Djinn Tamer - Bronze League Book 2)

https://amzn.to/2N7yLld